The Wright State Guardian

Schuster Hall | Photo by Arden Reimer | State Guardian Wright

On Tuesday, October 25, over 50 musicians from around the world and the Dayton community gathered at the Creative Arts Center to perform the first symphony concert of the academic year.

Artists behind the music

Concertmaster and violinist Haejin Kim was one of 14 violinists who performed Modest Mussorgsky’s “Pictures of an Exhibition” and “Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor Op. 18.”

All the musicians have been preparing for this fall concert every Monday since the beginning of the semester. Kim evaluated the performance.

“I think [the concert] the best went. I went to every rehearsal, and it’s always better when you have the actual audience because the chemistry between the introduction of the audience and the musicians is what makes us excited to play,” said Kim.

A visiting pianist, Rajung Yang, was also part of the concert. The importance of this accompaniment is listed in the official program of the concerts.

Also Read :  Mall of America in Minnesota shooting: 19-year-old dead after an altercation

“[Pianist Rajung Yang is] hailed as one of the most versatile pianists of his generation,” the program says.

A graduate of Seoul National University and the University of Michigan in piano, Yang travels throughout the United States and Europe as an internationally acclaimed pianist.

Yang now lives in Waco, Texas working as a collaborative pianist and teaching piano at Baylor University. Yang attended a symphony concert at the invitation of Dr In-Hong Cha, the conductor of the symphony concert.

“[The concert] really amazing, I was surprised by most of the orchestra members,” said Yang. “It was a great joy to know that they love to make music together. It’s hard to put this piece together in a quick time, and usually, if I’m a soloist with the orchestra, we usually rehearse two or three times for sure, but last night was the only rehearsal.”

Despite the short rehearsal time, both Yang and Cha agreed that the concert was a success.

Also Read :  Lake Elsinore deputy shot: Jesse Navarro ID'd as suspect in killing of Riverside County Sheriff's Deputy Darnell Calhoun

Cha, who has been a Professor of Music at Wright State University for over 20 years, teaches applied violin and serves as conductor and conductor of the University Symphony Orchestra.

The conductor learned to play the violin in South Korea, where Cha found a passion for music that still exists today.

Cha now holds degrees in violin performance from Brooklyn College, City University of New York and Conservatory of Music and University of Cincinnati. Cha also holds a doctorate in orchestral conducting from the University of South Carolina.

Internationally renowned, Cha has performed throughout the United States and in countries such as Mexico, Italy, Indonesia, China and more. Cha’s career includes being the conductor of many professional Korean orchestras, such as the Amabile Chamber Orchestra of Korea and the Gangnam Symphony Orchestra.

Cha described the importance of paying tribute to the musicians who created the pieces that the orchestra plays.

Also Read :  Child poverty rates highest in states that haven’t raised minimum wage

“Already, as a musician, before we play their music live, we respect their lives,” said Cha. “I would say those stories, their backgrounds, their music are what influenced me.”

free Russian pictures,

The performance pieces, both performed by Russian composers, reflected the Russian spirit.

The first piece, “Pictures of an Exhibition,” was the longest but also the most varied work in the concert. The composer, Modest Mussorgsky, channeled the feelings of the death of a close friend into this work, which imitated looking at ten different paintings while walking through a gallery.

These ten pictures conjure up mental images of a running gnome, a troubadour singing in front of a medieval castle, Parisian gardens, a Polish ox-cart, a ballet, a portrait of two Polish Jews, a French market, Roman tombs and Russian folklore.

The second piece, “Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor Op. 18,” focused heavily on the sound interaction between Yang and the orchestra.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button